jump to navigation

disturbing uniforms 19 May 06

Posted by רות in Misc.
trackback

ynet news on Iranian Uniform Law

I am shuddering from the thoughts of this. This is not my preferred term (or use) of uniforms. My heart breaks for the other minorities being forced to wear red (Christains) and blue (Persian). Idon’t know what to say. I am saddened that I don’t know what to do. I feel the same way with the child abuse scandal. With many other problems. How can I take action?

I must admit that a large part of me wants to either stick my head in the sand (when the weather is nice) or hide under a rock (for the recent weather). I don’t want to believe that all of this is happening. This sort of thing is *not* really what I was intending on covering in this “uniforms” series (nor did I want to write the other post. EVER. but I digress). I must state that I think I was trying to arrive at the following. There is a disturbing reality of being “ignored” by a certain community if one does not subscribe to the community’s uniform (hat, shaitel, kollel, shirt color, tablecloth). I agree one could (and perhaps SHOULD) be viewed as an “outsider” but that is not a good method to completely ignore the outsider in the hopes that he or she goes away or completely conforms to your ‘standards’ without making any effort to assist them make that decision. (see ostrich and rock methods above)

I think.

I’m going to go crawl under the covers.

Comments»

1. projgen - 19 May 06

Ruth, what Iran is enacting are not uniforms, they are identifying tags for the purposes of persecution. The two cannot even be compared. Just because Iran calls it a “uniform law” doesn’t make it so. We call Ahmadinejad a human but that doesn’t make it so.


Leave a comment